Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science is part of Aarhus BSS, one of the five faculties at Aarhus University.
The department carries out research and teaching within all important fields of politics and public administration, and the researchers collaborate closely with Danish as well as international peers. The department prioritises disseminating research results to the political-administrative system and to the general public.



2020.10.20 | Research news

Citizens themselves contribute to political mistrust

People have a special ability to detect and disseminate information about egotistic and selfish leaders. In this way, citizens themselves contribute greatly to the proliferation of voter apathy and mistrust of politicians, according to a new study from Aarhus BSS at Aarhus University.

2020.10.13 | Research news

Empathy prevents COVID-19 spreading

New research in cooperation with the Department of Psychology and Behavioural Sciences.

Photo: Aarhus BSS Communication and External Relations

2020.09.14 | Awards

Mathias Tromborg receives award for best LSQ paper

Assistant Professor of Political Science Mathias Tromborg has won an award for best comparative paper in the journal of Legislative Studies Quarterly (LSQ). The award was presented virtually at this year’s APSA conference.


Fri 27 Nov
14:15-16:00 | Aud. A 1 (1333/101)
PhD Defence: Only In It for Power and Wealth? Investigating Dictators’ Motives
Matilde Tofte Thorsen will defend her PhD dissertation


New Books

2020.10.28 | New Books

Rethinking Party Reform

Fabio Wolkenstein's book is published by Oxford University Press.

2020.08.14 | New Books

New Book Release

The Oxford Handbook of Danish Politics

Latest publications