The Department of Political Science is divided into a number of subfields, each consisting of staff members with expertise in the specific subject area. The subfields constitute the framework of the department's overall activities, coordinating the teaching, staff affairs and general research strategies.

International Relations

The subfield International Relations focusses on the international system, including the behaviour of states and other important actors in the system. Among the central problems is stability and change, war and peace, the behavioural determinants of states, international negotiations and foreign policy. In addition to this, we treat questions concerning international development problems and the changes in the international economy etc.

Head of section: Morten Valbjørn

Public Administration

Head of section: Vibeke Lehmann Nielsen

Comparative politics

Head of section: Carsten Jensen

Political Behaviour and Institutions

Head of section: Rune Slothuus

Political Theory

Head of section: Tore Vincent Olsen


Head of section: Lasse Lindekilde

Methods (teaching section)

Head of section: Lene Aarøe

Pol Intro (teaching section)

Head of section: Rasmus Brun Pedersen

Danish Centre for Studies in Research and Research Policy

Centre director: Niels Mejlgaard