Department of Political Science is part of Aarhus BSS, one of the four faculties at Aarhus University. Aarhus BSS holds the distinguished accreditations AACSB, AMBA, EQUIS for its business-related activities.

The department teaches and carries out research on all the most significant subject areas of political science and public administration. The department's researchers enter into close collaborative agreements with both Danish and international colleagues. The department gives priority to communicating its research results to the political-administrative system and the public in general.

The department has the overall responsibility for the Bachelor’s and Master’s degree (cand.scient.pol.) programmes in Political Science, the Master’s degree (cand.soc.) programme in Social Science, and the subsidiary subject programme in Social Science. The department also contributes to the Flexible Master of Public Governance (FMOL).

Day-to-day work is structured around six sub-disciplines: comparative politics, international relations, public administration and management, public policy, political sociology and methodology, as well as political theory.

The Department emphasizes a dynamic and flexible research and teaching profile characterized by pluralism and openness. The research of the department, on which all teaching is based, covers a wide range of the disciplines of political science, representing a variety of methodological approaches. This enables the department to focus on new problem areas as they appear on the national and international political arenas. The department actively contributes to the development of the discipline.

The wide range of subjects and methodologies of the department enables our candidates to leave the University with a generalist education, proven over the decades. The Department is therefore well equipped to offer postgraduate studies on an international level.

The department has some 90 academic staff and 40 PhD students.

Head of department

The department consists of units from: